STINKPOTS

For the most part my father was extremely logical, even to a point where I felt his pragmatism was excessive. As a dreamy poet-to-be I often deemed logic a drag. But every now and then my father held views I found insane, and one such view was that he preferred sailboats to powerboats. I didn’t see the sense in being dependent on anything so fickle as the wind. When the wind wasn’t capsizing you it was leaving you becalmed. However his dislike of motorboats approached racism. Even when we were helplessly becalmed he would look down a sneering nose at a cabin cruiser puttering cheerfully past, and contemptuously mutter, “stinkpot.”

I had to admit he had a point, for when a boat passed upwind it really did stink. Also it made a racket, and spoiled the experience of being amidst all the sloshing and gurgling sounds of winds and waves. However I disliked all the ropes and knots involved with sailing, and especially all the jargon. It seemed silly to say “ready about” rather “get ready to turn”, and “now we’re turning” made far more sense than “hard to lee”, but my father insisted on my learning a whole new vocabulary. It didn’t seem fair, for school was suppose to be over for the summer, and I preferred fishing in my happy harbor to that harbor becoming a classroom, and I pouted when I should have been grateful my father was doting on me. I was eventually faced with a dilemma, for I loved the ocean, but wound up disliking both sailboats and stinkpots.

My solution to this dilemma was a row boat. It wasn’t a loud stinkpot, yet I could go straight upwind like a stinkpot. I rowed all over the place, and, being a boy, eventually discovered a rowboat was like a stinkpot in another way. I could run out of gas. This occurred when both wind and tide were against me, and I extracted myself from a few dilemmas my mother never heard about, for I knew how she fretted when my father and brothers bragged about their exploits aboard various small sailboats.

In the years since none of us drowned, and I have learned that even aboard stinkpots people have exploits. In fact danger seems to be the one thing which rowboats, sailboats and stinkpots have in common.

My mother could never understand why anyone would expose themselves to such danger when they could sit in the sun safely ashore, happily chain-smoking dangerous cigarettes and reading an Agatha Christie novel about people in danger. I thought to myself she was a hypocrite, but never recall attempting to explain to her what was so wonderful about going to sea. (She may have eventually learned, for her third marriage was with a career Navy man, and her ashes were eventually buried at sea.) But this is about my father.

As I now sit ashore by lakes far from the sea, an old man without the stamina to row I once had, I like to recall my father when I see a sailboat becalmed out on the water, going nowhere as people driving jet-skis rocket joyously past. I just know, if he was aboard such a becalmed boat (and could imagine the phenomenon of jet-skis), he’d be muttering, “stinkpot”.

I find myself wondering what he found so virtuous about being dependent upon something you couldn’t control: The fickle wind. Within the answer to that question is a sonnet:

. STINKPOT SONNET

Long ago men knew, when pirates seized a ship
And raised its sails, the boat went nowhere
Without the wind: Wind no pirate could grip
With greedy hands. But now men do not care
So much for wind, and weak minds fail to grasp
Power still comes from beyond their control.
Stalin saw it, when the stroke made him gasp
With bulging eyes. Deep down in mankind’s soul
Is knowledge our sails are our mortal lungs,
And without wind in those lungs we go nowhere,
Yet ignorance lifts ladders without rungs
Towards their tops; fools cruise upstream unaware
They’ll be in rapids when gas tanks empty.
I shake my head. Such a fate doesn’t tempt me.

https://i0.wp.com/edge.alluremedia.com.au/uploads/businessinsider/2016/07/Tenacious.jpg

3 thoughts on “STINKPOTS

  1. Ah the fluid elements, – – – . Air and water suspended above the dust from which we are molded. Just add some salt without some of which neither have savor. My father favored stink pots whether with cabin or without. I have watered my body in the fresh and salty variety, both literally and aboard kayak, canoe, boat open and with cabin, then to sea in a larger fishing vessel and finally the ocean liner. To avoid hypocrisy I have to confess that I am no sailor. But, I also have to admit that I have had some exposure. I know the lung filled with both salted and fresh air. But, this week and for many others am landlocked seeing even slightly distant hills through a haze of African dusts.

    Growing up near bay and bayou and reached by salted air, these elements have the feel of home. But do not esteem virtue too greatly for though never a smoker a chronic bronchitis has somewhat diminished my “sailing” capacity. Old Ma Nature has a way of dealing with excessive hubris. If my sails have been shortened a bit, I still have other winds left to me one of which I exercise here. It seems that moderation is a useful guide. An excess of virtue can see diminishing results. And even sometimes diminished results lead to increased virtues. Mr. R.W. Emerson, the fellow New Englander up towards Caleb’s neck of the woods had a good piece to say about Compensation; he was a fellow whose thoughts I breathed in with the salt of Galveston bay a few miles to the south. I was an early teen then. But, now my shortened sail allows a broader view and a appreciative smile towards winds before taken for granted. It is not a severe shortage, but one that says open your eyes and see what has been passing by without due notice.

    My my, how the world presses its fevers upon our time. Presently I am inundated, but with a current moment of respite. If the immensely constrained infinities of mathematics are seen as large, then the unconstrained infinities of heaven and earth can be hinted at in comparison. My wife is visited this week by her half sister, whose relationship went unknown to their common father, and both siblings for decades. It was revealed by DNA testing. Friends and relatives are joining in the celebration and it has been quite a hullabaloo. This event’s possibility was an event foretold to me in the articles in Scientific American back in the fifties and sixties as the determinations of Watson and Crick unfolded. But, was anyone then able to foretell such implications as have reached us now? The family of man can be wider than any dream’s river.

    Taking a stray moment to be diverted from necessity, I sat chipping the flint (chert) that falls from our local limestone. I was reminded that here rather inland from the sea, I still ride its waves frozen in stone. A stray bit of that flint turns up on rare occasions already chipped into a rough tool where predecessors shaped the stones to serve in trade with others, whose territories did not supply the raw materials found here. These, blanks formed in the sea turn up in distant places just as the trade shells from beaches traveled in opposite directions.

    Winds from the sea reach far inland and cause leaves to bend that never know in their movement the inherent ocean’s roll, but would not be surprised. And thanks to Caleb’s remembered oars and stink pots I am recalled to my own.

  2. I have always loved sailing boats and the sea. These days I live between two lakes and enjoy swimming and biking. I don’t sail now, but perhaps I will in Heaven. Flying would be really great too. The Lord knows my heart.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.