LOCAL VIEW –Moody Monday–

Moody 1 FullSizeRender

Sometimes the weekend is too short. I’m not ready for the sheer inanity of my fellow man when Monday rolls around.

I’ve been in an on-line discussion with someone about sea-ice. It has been frustrating because he or she will not talk about the things my eyes can see and that I can point to, but instead resorts to invisible things sensed by satellites, such as “mass-balance.” Finally I gave up trying to show what eyes can see, and basically stated, “Be that way, if you want.” I thought that would be the end of it, but this morning I got this lovely note:

“Caleb, you should be aware by know that the Heartland institute support whatever fake science industry pays them to support. This includes lobbying and generating doubt against regulations on CO2 emissions, ozone-destroying chemicals, second-hand-smoke, endangered species etc. They are part of the paid anti-science forces in the US. You are truly living in a conservative bubble if you are not aware of this. And Fred Singer’s past? For-hire fake scientist…shameful stuff.
I know this won’t be published, I just hope you read this and reflect a bit what kind of forces you are dealing with and endorse.”

Great. I haven’t even had my first coffee.

Anyway, I am reflecting on what kind of forces I am dealing with (if not endorsing.) It made me pout a bit. After all, I am only pointing out what my eyes can see, and discover I am a bad-guy, part of “anti-science forces”. Me!  And I’m such a nice old fossil.

Then, when driving the little children to kindergarten, I discover this lovely object has been parked at the entrance of the high school.

Moody 2 IMG_4929

I think the point of this is to stress the gravity of reckless driving to the high school seniors, who tend to go wild at the time of graduation. However, as is often the case with alarmists focusing on worst-case-scenarios, it immediately backfired. Someone was gawking at the appalling wreck, and promptly went off the road, not fifty yards away.

Moody 3 FullSizeRender

Sometimes human efforts look particularly lame and ineffectual, and I want to stop the world and get off. Funny how often this happens on Mondays.

Take my cheeks in Your palms and raise my eyes
To Your hills, for my vision’s gone heavy.
(Too much talk of itches with hearts so dry
They make thirst.)
                          Faith that has never been steady
Knows most about the worst, yet it yammers
On insistent, (Professor of Dullsville),
As my tired heart slowly hammers
A cage for itself.
                                   Even the seagulls will
Rise from their dumps and let beauty soar
But I need Your help; It would be so easy
For You.
                  You open Springtime’s golden store
Of lemon green, make trees lacy and breezy,
And dab dark pines in honey. One glance kills
All woe, so raise my eyes to Your hills.

Moody 4 FullSizeRender

18 thoughts on “LOCAL VIEW –Moody Monday–

  1. “aware by know that ” threw me for a couple of seconds until I twigged he/she meant “by now”. In the UK that type of message is regarded as playing the man not the ball (a soccer analogy).

    I hope they survived without too many injuries, rubber-neckers are a nightmare, almost as much a the young, usually male, drivers. I rather like the gloomy days when cars are driving in rain with the headlights on, I don’t know why perhaps the thought of getting home to a nice warm house and a cup of tea has something to do with it.

    My wife used to work at the UK National Railway Enquiries (before it moved to India) they used to dread Fridays when a lorry always hit a railway bridge which would cause chaos as there would have to be safety checks before trains were allowed to use the bridge again. Just as everyone was traveling home for the weekend making Friday the busiest day of the week. In this case spoiling the start of the weekend.

    • I just drove from Antwerp (Belgium) to Hamburg (Germany), hundreds of miles with no speed limit – yay 😊. I experimented – as any scientist would – with flooring the gas and seeing how fast my Landrover Discovery would go. 190 kmh seems to be the answer. Of course I’m 52 now and too old for such teenage behaviour, but back then I could never afford a decent car 🚗.

  2. I like watching others drive in the rain, out my window at home. Yet I’ve learned that, if you dress warmly and have good rain-gear, tramping in the woods can be rewarding. The raindrops make such a racket in leaves above, and the leaves underfoot are so sodden and silent, that there’s a far better chance of catching wildlife unawares. They can’t hear you.

    I wonder why the lorries chose Fridays to run into bridges. Do you suppose the drivers were starting the weekend a bit early? Pausing at pubs on the way home?

    A certain amount of luck is involved in surviving youth, I think. (I’d confess, but you might think I was bragging.)

    An army of angels watches over young men, but boys press their luck. They don’t need elders pressing luck more, with wars. By age 21 there should be so few guys left alive that each would be allotted four women…..but I never found this to be the case, when I was young.

    • I saved the error because it took some of the sting out of the rebuke to have the critic look less than intelligent. Probably not very big of me, but then few are saints before they’ve had their morning coffee.

    • You are quite correct to quote verbatim in such cases. What people sometimes do when quoting a mis-spelling is to put after it “[sic]. “Sic” means “thus” in Latin (as well as feinting at another meaning!)

  3. Spent actual online time trying to make an impression on a closed mind? I know what that’s like, too. It is strange, really, how some people get fixated on an idea and there is no real way you can change that. An encyclopedia of information proving them wrong won’t change their minds at all. Why? Because reading it would be take a lot of effort, and they already know better. Tried talking to a “real” flat worlder. There was nothing that I could point out that invalidated the position that wasn’t countered by something that “your lying eyes” couldn’t tell wasn’t true. But I always knew that “Heartless” institute was wholly in the grasp of the evil carbon cartel! Do I REALLY have to tag that as sarcasm?

    • What is interesting is how a troll keeps coming back for more. Partly I think they just crave attention, but perhaps there is also a deep-seated need to be free of the flypaper they are affixed to.

      Years ago, when I was a young liberal, I held a few beliefs I have learned were not completely correct. The process of “unlearning” what I already was “certain-of” was grueling, and at times involved simply giving up on a lot of hard writing and doing some sort of remedial work, such as taking a job as a dishwasher. Then, when I later returned to the writing, certain aspects made me cringe. Somehow, besides healing all wounds, time also ends our ignorance.

      The “School of Hard Knocks” is brutal, but, if you can survive it physically and mentally, it is the best college. And perhaps it is because I know of the pain of such an education that I have pity towards the fools just taking the entrance exams.

      But some people flunk even the entrance exams, and it is then I start to think I may be throwing pearls to swine.

  4. Don’t shoot the messenger but you saying that NIPPC is somehow equivalent to the IPCC means that you have been duped hook, line and sinker. There’s a concerted effort in the US against science and experts, the inane fight against evolutionary theory is an earlier example of this – millions of people got the incorrect message during their education that creationism (=intelligent design) is somehow a viable scientific alternative, when it isn’t, and there’s not even a controversy about this. Fabrication of doubt is a propaganda technique, religious zealots use it and so does the for-profit industry. Stay vigilant!

    • I fear you are displaying what psychologists call “projection ” when you state I have been duped. (“Projection” is just a fancy way of saying, “It takes one to know one.”) If you want to know the hows and whys and the wherefores, I suggest you read “Hubris” by Michael Hart. It is 572 pages of carefully documented study of the entire “Global Warming” fiasco, from its beginnings to its current dead end.

      Of course, this is just more homework for you, and, as you show little sign of ever listening to me, and prefer to bray your dogma, I have little hope you will expose your sheltered belief-system to fresh ideas, and instead will call challenges “fabrication of doubt.”

      I find it odd that you mock people who are loyal to their faith while displaying such devotion to your own. You are a zealot.

      It is one thing to refuse to believe in a ghost because you have never seen one, and quite another to refuse to go to the graveyard at midnight because you are scared of what you might see.

      It was when Hamlet actually saw a ghost that he said, “There are more things in heaven and earth, Horatio, than are dreamt of in your philosophy.”

      I don’t doubt you do not see what I see, but it is because you dare not go where I have been, not because you are “vigilant”.

    • Styrge,

      I am not debating whether there has been global warming and I doubt Caleb is either. There has been a degree or so of warming over the past 100-150 years. I am not debating that CO2 is a greenhouse gas and I doubt Caleb is either. It is, but how potent is a matter of legitimate scientific debate.

      All we are saying is that there is no conclusive evidence that the ongoing warming (if any) is outside the range of natural variability, nor is there any conclusive evidence of any looming climate catastrophe. Since you are the ones making this extraordinary claim and asking for trillions more spent on research, mitigation, lifestyle changes, etc., I believe your side is the one that has to provide overwhelming evidence of such a catastrophe. Otherwise, you are no different than a bandit that puts a gun to your head and says “Your money or your life!”.

      If there were a looming climate catastrophe, you would think the first place it would show up would be in the food supply, as there is no doubt that weather extremes affect crops. But instead of massive crop failures, like during the 1930’s, there have been repeated record crops in recent years.

      • Sty will just reiterate that PIOMAS and GRACE data is conclusive, but thanks for the moral support, Andy.

  5. Caleb,
    You should be honoured that you’ve assigned your own personal troll, people at Climate Change HQ must be taking notice and getting concerned that you are pointing out basic truths which they’d rather be kept hidden.

    The “Friday Bridge Bashes” are very puzzling but it is amazing how often it happens.

    • Honour is something I’ve learned to live without. Now I’m too old to learn to put up with honour. Unless……Is honour the same thing as “a nuisance”? In that case, I’ve had plenty of practice.

      In the States the truckers got very overworked by Fridays. Finally the bureaucrats got involved and said truckers had to keep logs of how many hours they worked and couldn’t work beyond a certain point…..which of course led to all sorts of creative book-keeping.

      My next guess for why the crashes occurred on Fridays would be a stop at the pub after a long, hard week.

      • I think possibly relaxing and not concentrating as much as they do at the beginning of the week, plus possibly being a bit behind schedule and thinking about an evening in the pub later.

        There are very strict regulation across the EU on driver hours, no doubt the UK will relax theirs in a couple of years. This often causes a problem for drivers in the UK when delayed on motorways or trunk roads and reaching the end of their “at the wheel” hours. Records have to be maintained for each year and transferred when a driver changes employer.

      • When I was young a great form of public transportation (now vanished) was hitchhiking. I hitchhiked Boston to Montreal at age 15 and to Florida at age 16. Truckers would never pick you up, due to insurance regulations, unless it was pouring rain and you looked like a drowned rat and no one in their right mind would stop for you. That was when they were my salvation. So I have a soft spot in my heart for fellows who worked hard fifty years ago. I have little idea what the life of a trucker is like now, but back in the day many worked too hard, and took a lot of speed.

        One fellow told me he got so burned out that he was driving in a strange state of hallucination in the dark before dawn where the orange reflectors at the side of the superhighway looked like police men with furry orange hats. Yikes! However he never went off the road and hit no bridges, that I know of.

Leave a Reply

