LOCAL VIEW –Cutting Back Blogging–

I’ve been having a blast just wandering about the web. I never know what I’ll find or where I’ll wind up. Yesterday was a good example. I started off to research sea-ice and wound up posting about a famous British actress getting sprayed by manure as she cooked muffins out in a pasture. It seemed like the subject of a dream, but was real.

However enough is enough. I’m turning into some sort of webaholic. May is a very busy time at my Farm-childcare, with all sorts of things to plant, and I need to simply turn the computer off.

Therefore I am going to shorten my posts. I’ll post things like the prior post about frost in Brazil, that I can write in between the time insomnia boots me from bed, and the sun comes up. After that the computer screen will be dark and silent.

This feels like fasting. It seems like it may turn out to be harder than I imagine. I may have withdrawal symptoms. Who would have ever imagined, twenty years ago, such an web-addiction was even possible?

But, although new beginnings can be sweet when they are springtime, they are grim when they are Mondays, and a man must be a man. Enough is enough.

Like some snowflake bragging of its bangled
Originality before the beaming sun,
Some strutting cock whose doodle is strangled
Because he saw no fox nor need to run,
I face the dawn. Lord let me please shut up.
I’m sick of my brain’s wit, wit, wit, wit, wit.
For once let me be silent, for the cup
Cannot be sipped when talking about it.
If I talk while swallowing I will choke
Or else I’m a ventriloquist’s dummy,
But my brain keeps making joke after joke
Before the King. A jester too chummy
For his own good may wind up beheaded
Which will make my silence be the sort I’ve dreaded.

5 thoughts on “LOCAL VIEW –Cutting Back Blogging–

  1. Hey, I hear ya, hard to even keep track of the conditions up north with all the groups letting their instruments fail, killing their products, and so forth.

    • O-buoy 13 has stopped reporting. That means there is only one buoy left.

      Maybe it is just bad weather and bad luck, but with so much equipment failing I wonder if A.) The show is now run by political appointees who don’t know how to run their own nose, or B.) There are some who don’t wish the public to use their lying eyes.

      Morale must be low in some areas of the sea-ice scientific community.

  2. Okay Caleb, enjoy your “vacation”.

    But, if we hear that the Arctic is falling apart, we will know why.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

